Our Colchester

Colchester Business Awards 2024

On Wednesday 5th June 2024, Colchester’s City Centre businesses descended on Firstsite for an awards evening with a twist. Shifting away from the traditional awards presentation format, Our Colchester BID opted for a livelier, fluid evening with street food vendors, ‘gaming for a cause’ and none other than the Mercury Theatre’s very own resident Dame, ASH.

"Last night our business community was alive with a vibrant mix of smiling faces all proud of their contribution to our city." - Andy Starr, Chair of PubWatch and Director for Our Colchester BID

This year, the sold out event brought together over 220 guests, representing more than 70 businesses and winners were recognised across eleven categories.

Since the 2024 awards season began, over 1100 nominations were submitted, and over 20,000 votes were cast in support of our local businesses big and small. These record-breaking numbers are a demonstration of a city centre with faithful supporters, and this event gave nominees a chance to feel that love. There were tears, laughter and even a stage fall - did the breaking news of their win bring them to their knees?

Patch followed on from last year’s success and snapped up three awards, and Mercury Theatre followed closely behind as a double-winner.

Best New Business, perhaps the most hotly anticipated award, garnered plenty of attention. Jo Lucking from Twisted Treats shares what it means to her:

"Myself and my team at Twisted Treats are absolutely honoured to have been voted Best New Business in Colchester. It’s wonderful to be a part of such an amazing community of small businesses, and to see everyone being celebrated for all their hard work - we make up the heart of the city.A massive thank you to all our loyal customers for their continued support, and if you haven’t heard of us, pop in and try out some delicious treats in our beautiful shop on St Botolphs street!"

- Jo Lucking, Twisted Treats

See https://incolchester.co.uk/business-awards for the complete list of winners,